Books, Reviews

Sweet Reckoning ~ A Review (or maybe just fangirling…)

Ok, let’s get the book info out of the way before I unleash my inner fangirl. Sweet Reckoning (The Sweet Trilogy, #3) Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins It’s time. 

Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.

The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.

In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom. Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Barnes&Noble FIrst of all, I’m going to mention that this is the third in a trilogy, and if you’ve made this far, you didn’t need that synopsis to know you’d be reading this.  I mean… Kaidan Rowe is in it.  To those who haven’t heard of this series before, the first installment is called Sweet Evil, and you should read it because it’s adorable. I have to admit, I got started on this series because the cover of the first book was to die for.  I know, I do judge books by their cover, but I’m so happy I do; it led me to this masterpiece.  I have loved these books, as have all of my friends, and I was so sad to see it end but happy to find the characters at long last getting what they deserve. Now, onto the actual review (if you can call it that.)   I decided that for this book, instead of letting my brain pick apart every faulty scene and annoying quirk, I’d let my heart do the talking because man, did this book give me the Feels.   So… AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  KAI AND ANNA!!!!! OHMYGOSH!!!  CAN I JUST JUMP IN THIS BOOK AND HUG THEM?!?!??!?!??!!?!?  JUST… JUST… SOOOOOO SWEEEEEEEET!!!! … … … Maybe my brain needs to be involved a little bit. I’ll admit this book had its faults.  It was somewhat slow and could use a touch more action at times.  There was a certain… event that I didn’t like and didn’t see the reasoning behind; it really seemed rather unnecessary and frustrating and super unlikely.  I mean come on, everything would have to go wrong for that to happen, and wouldn’t Jay want to, like, take precautions?  You’ll understand if you read the book. Maybe I’m a little more annoyed at that thing than I thought I was, but I’m willing to let it go because, well, the ending of this book is perhaps the best ending I have ever read.  The last line especially was absolute perfection. Trust me on this. I am a reader who believes a crappy last line can ruin a book.  Just to restate, I am not talking about an ending.  I am referring to the very last sentence of a book. I have gotten to that very last line before, thinking “oh, this is pretty good,” then that last sentence is something cheesy or ridiculous or totally un-profound that doesn’t do its job of placing a little bow right on top of the present that is the story, and my “oh” turns to more of an “eeeeehhhmmmffffssch.”  Let me tell you, that is not a good sound.  Even if it does look a bit ridiculous when I try to type it out. Anyway, Sweet Reckoning had the PERFECT last line.  And a FLAWLESS ending, for that matter. I promise you, every flaw of this book (and there aren’t many) is made up for in the ending.  It was so sweet and wonderful and touching and… and… and I cried, alright! It brought me to tears. That’s all I have to say.  It was an amazing book and a perfect conclusion to a fantastic series that I would absolutely recommend. Be ready with some smelling salts; you are going to swoon. Smiles! P.S. Wendy Higgins, if you read this, I hope you know I expect some of this book from Kaidan’s point of view; I’d love to see that epilogue from his eyes or say, chapters 12 and 13. *wink wink* 😉 P.P.S. Was that review good?  Or was it a slew of poorly constructed jokes and awkward fangirling?

Leave a Reply

