Books, Reviews

The Distance Between Us~ Review

Sorry, I’ve been absent from here, but I’m going to try to make up for it by making this blog awesome.  I’m not going to waste your time with excuses, so without further ado…

It’s very clear that I’m not great at reviews; they aren’t my forte.  But, then, I figured out how I could make sound less like a garbled heap of burbling, and to have more of a good vs. bad system.  I’m going to share the BEST thing about the book, and the WORST thing about the book.  They’re going to battle it out in my head like Superman and whoever the villain is.  (I might be listening to that Daughtry song, Superman, right now… I definitely am…  I really like it.)

Then, I will probably give you another analogy, because I really like those, and whichever one wins wins.  So, let’s see how this works. *rubs hands together, smiling maniacally*

15283043
Isn’t this cover gorgeous? I got it in paperback just so I could stare at it.

 

 

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West (who also wrote the totally awesome book, Pivot Point)

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.
So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Barnes&Noble

 

THE GOOD

Caymen was hilarious.  She just was.  The romance was really adorable too, but if I had to pick one thing and name it Awesomest Thing In The Book, it would be her humor.  In her first meeting with Xander she already had me cracking up, especially with this part of the exchange, in which Xander has some questions about the doll he’s about to buy:

“How come the dog isn’t named?” He reads aloud the title on the box. “‘Peggy and dog.‘” 

“Because people tend to want to name animals after their beloved pets.”

“Really?”

“No.  I have no idea.  I can give you the number of Peggy’s creator if you want to ask.”

“You have the phone number of this doll’s creator?”

“No.”

Soon, he has another question, and she has another delightful answer:

He picks up a business card from the holder by the register and studies it for a moment.  ” ‘And more’?”

The name of the store is Dolls and More.  He’s asking what others have before him once they come into the store and only see dolls.  I nod. “Dolls and more dolls.” 

He tilts his head.

“We used to carry charm bracelets and stuffed animals and such, but the dolls got jealous.”

This continued throughout the book, Xander even started participating.  They’re adorable.

THE BAD

It was really good until the end, and then it sort of slacked off.  After what I guess you could call the climax, where everything fell apart, everything was quickly put back into place and even made better too quickly for my tastes.  It all seemed kind of rushed to me, and there was one big reveal that seemed to solve all the problems Caymen had been dealing with.  Well, and naturally, a totally swoon worthy speech from Xander.  … I guess the ending wasn’t all bad.

Ding Ding Ding

The wit wins.  It’s like Aubrey Plaza vs. John or Hank Green (I thought, what’s rushed?, and their speech patterns came to mind).  She could totally melt them into a puddle with her stare.  And that’s that.  Sorry, Nerdfighters; I like them too, but she’s got that in the bag.

That was interesting…  I feel like it was more structured, and made more sense, and I really love making analogies, however bad.. weird… no, just bad, they may be.

So, what do you think of this review strategy?  Is it good?  I’ll even settle for mediocre, because I’m pretty sure my other reviews landed somewhere near the toilet…  By near, of course I mean, in, then flushed, then in the sewer, with rats, and sewer gators…

Smiles!

(P.S. I’ve been writing a post called Wattpad and Abortion, and I looked up some anti-abortion arguments to address in the post, and I found one of the most ridiculous things I’ve ever heard.  The devil is destroying society’s basic foundation which is the family. Feminism was a tool that helped make this so.”  So it would seem feminism is the devil’s work, and along those lines, women’s voting rights are evil, as is equal pay for women.  Basically, if you are a self supporting woman, you are the devil’s work.)

Leave a Reply

