Life and stuff

New Years Resolutions 2014

I’m still working it all out because I’ve been ridiculously busy this last week with family things (helping out with my little cousins, New Years Day dinner, and my grandpa had surgery earlier this week), so I figured I’d still keep it fairly easy and share some New Years Resolutions.  Plus, if I actually accomplish these this year, I can brag about it next year. So… here we go!

1) Read the book stack.

I think I mentioned my shame pile in the Top Ten Tuesday I did awhile back, but if you need a reminder, here it is:

20131210-193015.jpg

Or, if you’d prefer a look at the covers…

20131210-192852.jpg

Now, to be fair, I have read four of these since these pictures were taken.  I’ve also added one… Don’t judge.  Oh, and I gave one to a friend as a birthday present…Remember, no judging.

The up-to-date count is 36.  I really need to get through these. Or get rid of them. Something.  I will say, it was convenient when my procrastination got in the way of my ability to give a gift.

2) Build up this blog.

I want to make a site that will amuse and interest people.  I want to make bloggy friends.  I want to establish a strong internet presence, since my real life one is somewhat meek.  But you know what they say: the meek shall inherit the world.

Maybe world domination is my goal.

Just kidding.

*whispers behind hand* I’m not.

To be fair, I do have a secondary, ulterior motive for this blog, but I’ll share that when it works.  First, I have to conjure an awesome blog.

3) Exercise more.

I know. It’s everyone’s goal.  Except the already fit. Congratulations, health nuts, you get to be even more annoying than usual this time of year.  Good job shaming everyone.

I really don’t exercise much at all.  I’m not sporty or particularly athletic naturally, and I find no use for unfun activities in my life, but I’m going to do it.  I’m determined.

4)Start volunteering.

I both need and want to do this.  I like helping people; I like fixing things.  Plus, it’s a bit of a necessity for school stuff.  I’m very set with my grades, but if I don’t round myself out, I’m not going to have the stunning college application I desire.

5)  Write a book.

I’ve wanted to do this for quite some time, and I think I could; I have so much stuff floating around in my brain, I’m pretty sure I can pull a book out of it.  Plus, I’d like to add my stories to the many that have been created.  I think I could make something entertaining, and maybe put it up somewhere.

So far, I’ve just had trouble sticking with one idea long enough to put together any semblance of a novel.

Which leads me to six…

6) Follow through.

Just in general.  I have so many plans and ideas and wants in my head, but I rarely follow through, which I think is a major problem.  If I can’t manage to follow through on things, I have no chance at making myself happy.  Which is the ultimate goal in life, I think.

I feel like those are the main ones.  There are some others that I’m sure I’m not remembering right now, and some that just aren’t incredibly important.  For example, getting organized.  That’s more of a way to help along the rest of my goals anyway.

Plus, it is 11:52 and I’d really like this to show up as a post on 1/2/2014 which won’t happen if I don’t finish this up in the next 8 minutes.

So, do you have any resolutions?

Let’s be honest, most of us are doomed to fail at these.

But who’s to stop us from trying?

On that happy note,

Smiles!

 

Leave a Reply

