Books, Reviews

Racing Savannah~ Review

Racing Savannah

Racing Savannah by Miranda Kenneally

They’re from two different worlds.

He lives in the estate house, and she spends most of her time in the stables helping her father train horses. In fact, Savannah has always been much more comfortable around horses than boys. Especially boys like Jack Goodwin—cocky, popular and completely out of her league. She knows the rules: no mixing between the staff and the Goodwin family. But Jack has no such boundaries.

With her dream of becoming a horse jockey, Savannah isn’t exactly one to follow the rules either. She’s not going to let someone tell her a girl isn’t tough enough to race. Sure, it’s dangerous. Then again, so is dating Jack…

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Goodreads

Ok, so, I’m going to feel awful after I write this review, but I believe that anyone who reads this deserves my honest opinion, even if what I’m going to say isn’t exactly the nicest thing ever.  To ease my conscience a little bit, I’m going to apologize to the author real quick, in case she ever finds this.  Sorry Miranda Kenneally!  I feel really awful trashing your work; you seem like a wonderful person, but I just wasn’t a huge fan.

I’ve read all of Miranda Kenneally’s books thus far, and I’ll admit, if I hadn’t read Catching Jordan first, I probably wouldn’t have read the rest of them.  In my opinion, they’ve just gotten… I don’t want to say worse, so I’ll say less good.

I loved Catching Jordan; that girl was awesome and Henry was so sweet.  I would 100% recommend it to anyone.  Stealing Parker was pretty good too.  I might have read more of her books if I’d read this first, as well.  But, Parker was no Jordan.  Now, Things I Can’t Forget was hard to read.  I barely got through that.  I was not a fan of the main character, whose name I can forget.

Basically, I don’t think she has yet to match Catching Jordan, and Racing Savannah did not manage it.  It rose about Things I Can’t Forget (though that wasn’t hard in my opinion).  However, it did fit the trend I’ve noticed that with each book, Miranda Kenneally includes more sex scenes.  Which is okay, but it seems that these scenes free her up to include less real connection, cutesy moments, which I love.  I’m a teenage girl; I want to see mushy crap, not just the omg-let’s-get-it-on part.

So, here goes the second part of my rant, where I talk about the actual book.

First off, I liked it in the beginning; Savannah was a girl determined to be jockey and wanting to raise above her situation.  That’s very nice, and it was a good setup for a good lesson.  Then there was the pretty rich boy who came along and thought she was gorgeous.  He literally rode up on a horse.  How is that not a good start?  So, yeah, it began well and had the makings of a good book.  But, then… it failed.

It was pretty good until Jack and Savannah really got together.  For the first fifty percent, I liked it quite a bit.  I mean, there were the usual slight annoyances that can come with a romance book.  Just some slightly silly stuff that makes you want to melodramatically palm your forehead, you know.  But, then came the getting busy and lesson learning parts of the book, and its rating with me plummeted.

*WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD* On the getting busy side, Jack became a jackass (excuse the language, but I couldn’t pass that coincidence up).  They made out, he hid her in a closet, they made out again, he’s all sweet, she tells her family, they hook up again, then he freaks out, says he wants to hide her, and only have a “friends with benefits” thing.  Then, he keeps trying to get back with her, but doesn’t actually offer her a real relationship.  Total douche move.

Then, when they finally get together, it’s just because he beats up some guy that was trying to maul her.  Then he’s like, if you go after my girlfriend again, I’ll kill you.  And she’s like girlfriend? oh, cool.  Meanwhile, I’m thinking, what the heck?!  That’s it?  He calls you his girlfriend, and you’re just done with the matter.  He has been treating you like crap!  But one word and it’s all good?  NO!!  It’s like if a friend screamed at you, then ended with a nickname and asked if you wanted to hang out.  Would that make their screaming ok?  No. Would you automatically go out with them?  Still no.  Would it eventually get better, specifically after you demanded an apology?  Yes, most likely.

But, nope.  Savannah is totally fine with just one word: girlfriend.  Boooooo

Second issue, the lesson learning.  It was incredibly obvious.  The lesson was outright stated. Over and over and over.  It was a nice lesson and all.  Respect yourself.  Believe in yourself.  Don’t let yourself be stuck in a bad situation or taken advantage of.  It was nice.  However, I don’t want to be told that.  I want to learn it from this fake person’s fake experiences.  Sure, you can include some inner turmoil, some epiphany moments, but when it’s said so clearly, so many times, it just sounds like a preachy old lady or maybe even a life coach or a shrink.  It made Savannah into a puppet, a soulless puppet who I suddenly couldn’t stand.

So, there you have it.  I was not a fan of this book.

I’m still going to say, you should try it.  Mainly because I think Miranda Kenneally seems like a nice person, and she really did try to write something meaningful with this; the execution was just off.  Who knows?  Maybe you’ll like it more.

Smiles!

 

Leave a Reply

