Books, Reviews

Romance Splurge- Four Brief Reviews

Okay, so my reading habits tend to show a pattern.  Most of the time, I’ll read a book or two, maybe three in a week.  I know; I read quite a bit.  It’s usually some YA romancy supernatural story with some mystery and action.  However, every once in awhile, I’ll overdose on seriously plotted books.  For example, last month I read Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas, then quickly followed that by reading the majority of three other books.

At this point, my reading tastes take a quick turn, and I immediately have to cleanse my palate with some simple romance.  Just the most easily accessed book possible that I know will satisfy my lovey-dovey girly emotions, but not really provoke much thought. (These often are found on my library’s online ebook website thing, so I can get them quickly and read them for free.)  As I said, I overdosed on thought-provoking stories last month, so, predictably, I found four romance books and read them as quickly as possible to detox.

Anyway, these are my reviews of the books in my romance splurge: Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik, Something Like Normal by Trish Doller, Dare You To by Katie McGarry, and Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett.  (The links are to the author’s sites; yes, I know this isn’t exactly necessary, but I’m one of those people who forms opinions of not only books, but also their authors… So sue me!)

Before I review these, though, I would like to state that I don’t quite remember everything these books, so if I do have my wires crossed, I apologize now.  Also, they’re going to be rather brief due to this as well.

Confessions of an Angry Girl

Goodreads~Amazon~Barnes&Noble

This was my least favorite of the four books.  From the description, I expected the main character, Rose Zarelli, to be a sassy firecracker.  She was far from it.  In fact, she was rather meek.  She rarely spoke her mind , which just made me want to shake her and say “WHY AREN’T YOU COOLER?!?!’  Also, she said she was a word nerd, but her vocabulary seemed fairly ordinary to me.

My other main problem with this book was that I found it hard to draw comparisons to my own life.  This may be because I’m sheltered or a goody two shoes or slightly antisocial, but I have never been to a big raucous party with alcohol, nor have I noticed a particular hierarchy in my school, nor are any of my friends contemplating sex or even dating, and because of this, it was difficult for me to connect to this girl who was experiencing these things.

Also, I was stuck with one question throughout the whole book; Is there anyone who isn’t Italian in this imaginary town?  I swear, everyone had an Italian surname: Forta, Zarelli, Delato, etc.  It really bothered me.

Epic Fail

Goodreads~Amazon~Barnes&Noble

This book was stereotypical romance.  The girl, Elise, is resisting falling for popular boy, Derek, and naturally doesn’t manage this.  Elise was a sweet character; she didn’t worry about her own image and cared very deeply for her sisters.  It was a short, fun, cute read, but that’s about all I can say about it.

 

 

 

Dare You To

Goodreads~Amazon~Barnes&Noble

Once again, this was a book that I had trouble connecting with because it included a lot of drugs and partying.  It was another book in which a loner girl fell for an incredibly popular guy with family issues.  To cut this short, because I’m really having difficulty conjuring up any details from this book, it was a good book; I like Katie McGarry. I read Pushing the Limits; I liked it.  Her books just aren’t something that particularly stick with me.  I would recommend reading them, though.

 

 

Something Like Normal

Goodreads~Amazon~Barnes&Noble

Something Like Normal was written from  a guy, Ryan’s, point of view, and it pulled this off perfectly.  It made him vulnerable, relatable, and lovable without making him any less masculine.

Other than this though, there wasn’t much that was stunning about this book.

Harper, the girl, was too forgiving at times, especially considering that in their first meeting, she went ballistic, then the next, she was fine. She was there, but she didn’t have a huge effect on the story.

I also was disappointed in the end because I don’t think Ryan got the conclusion he needed.  It felt like he was getting there and he was making progress, then suddenly the epilogue popped up when I turned the page, leaving me to think, “Huh, I had no idea that was the end.”

Basically, I liked it as I was reading it, but now, I can’t recall why.

 

My goodness, reading over my reviews, I realize they aren’t very good, but… I don’t have a thing to add to them… I’ll get better at this.  Promise.  In the mean time, Smiles!

Leave a Reply

